This Forum is now CLOSED use the link to get more details viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13924#p102587
By Andy Gough
Hi all . I have just fitted performance cams valves and pushrods to my GT but the pushrods are about 3mm longer than the stock one and there holding the valves open . I left it for an hour to see if the lifters would back off but no valves still open . Anyone else had this ?
Cheers Andy
By stinkwheel
I'm no expert on these but aren't they hydraulic tappets? Maybe you need to turn the engine over to circulate the oil?
By Andy C
Dont know anything about the hydraulic tappets, but wondering if perhaps the crank or pump needs to be in a specific position - perhaps you need to turn the engine a bit, but be very careful if the pushrods are 3mm longer.

Just a thought.
By Bullet Whisperer
Try with the original pushrods, the hydraulic tappets might have enough 'take up' to work with them. Otherwise, the longer pushrods will need to be shortened a bit.
By Andy Gough
Hi
I fitted a thinner base gasket / 1mm thinner ,
There's no problem with take up .
I put the standard rods in today and the inlet still held open for a while but did settle in the end and she fired up really nice , don't know what the point of the Hitchcocks rods are really , they just came with the cams but can't for the love of God see why
By Bullet Whisperer
Hi Andy, the longer pushrods are supposed to compensate for the smaller base circle of the performance cams, but in a few cases I haven't needed them after shortening the cylinder barrels and fitting thinner base gaskets.
By Andy Gough
Ok thanks . I didn't shorten the barrel in the end just used the thinner base gasket but there's no play at all the the standard rods , you can just just the pushrods at full closed so think I'll just go with that .
Cheers Andy
By Taurim