This Forum is now CLOSED use the link to get more details viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13924#p102587
By Dansey
Evening all, looking for a bit of advice on a RE Bullet 500 that has been given to me without papers.. reg has it as a 08 and the logo on the tool box is a 500 ES but looks to be standard without electric start.

Bike was sat in a fairly damp shed for almost a year so corrosion has set to work on the chrome and other areas, but overall appears in fairly good condition.

I have zero experience when it comes to working with bikes but before I get into the thick of it, I would be interested in identifying the bike and if possible getting her running.

From what I can tell, electrics seem okay following a charge on the battery. Had all the lights, indicators etc working this evening but not attempted anything else as I had noticed the (tank to carb) fuel line has hardened so much it had popped off the feed end into the carb. With failing light this evening and cold hands I couldn’t get the smallish amount of line flexible enough to push back on.

With this in mind and the damp environment I was hesitant to do anymore until I posted on here. Any tips, checks or help with identifying the bike would be much appreciated.

Plan to document the recovery of the bike.
By Daiwiskers
Can't help with identifying the bike
When a bike has been standing the first thing I do is drain the petrol then strip and clean the carb so the fuel pipe being already off is a bonus
Then I will whip out the plug (clean around the plug first) and poor in about a tablespoon of ATF but in reality any light oil will do then leave it alone for a few days until your workshop manual arrives
Workshop manual in hand back to the bike check oil level now I'm not sure if your bike is the unit engine or not if it's the unit the level should be the true reading if high there's a good chance that petrol has got past the carb and flooded into the oil if that's the case give it a oil change